They have a dream

september 11, 2013

Weer een pijnlijk maar goed stuk van Lydia de Leeuw over Gaza.

A SECOND GLANCE

“I feel like I’m stuck in a box, a box that is totally closed. There is nothing I can do about my situation. Everything around me, the political situation and conflict, it is all outside of my control.”

This is my friend Abeer Alabyad (26) who spent all day today waiting to cross the Rafah border from Gaza into Egypt. She was on her way to Leeds, where she is enrolled in a master programme which is about to start.

At 6.30 this morning she arrived at the border crossing, like many dozens of other Palestinian students from Gaza who are enrolled in foreign universities. They stood in the blazing sunshine and stood in the crowded waiting areas together with many hundreds of people who were on their way to family, hospital or work abroad. “The atmosphere was very tense and because of the stress many conflict and fights broke…

View original post 743 woorden meer

4 Reacties to “They have a dream”

  1. Rouvé Sabine Says:

    Hoe kunnen wij deze jonge lui helpen?
    Welke instanties in Europa hebben hier invloed op?
    Wat kan ik in Zwitserland doen?


    • Rouvé, er zijn gelukkig veel organisaties bezig om druk uit te oefenen op de Nederlandse regering en de EU.
      Wat iedereen kan doen is helpen de informatie zoals die van Lydia te verspreiden, alleen als de bevolking beter geinformeerd wordt is er een kans op verandering.

      • Sabine Rouvé Says:

        OK, dat doe ik al sinds jaren! Il ga ook dit jaar weer naar Palestina om al de organisaties die voor de vrede werken te besoeken en te ondersteunen. Hier in Zwitserland manifesteren we regelmatig op de markt in Genève, Lausanne, Nyon … en Vevey .
        Onze organisatie is de CUP (Collectif Urgence Palestine) . Veel moed!


  2. Oh dat is goed om te horen, Sabine. Ik heb ook lang in Zwitserland gewoond, maar toen was ik nog niet bezig met Palestina. Ik kan wel eens een stukje schrijven over CUP.
    Dit blog gebruik ik voornamelijk om dingen van anderen te plaatsen, ik blog zelf vooral op http://alexandrina.nl


Geef een reactie

